Given recent discussions with various authorities and privacy experts, we want to make clear that we currently have no plans to limit the functionality of how WhatsApp works for those who have not yet accepted the update. Instead, we will continue to remind users from time to time about the update as well as when people choose to use relevant optional features, like communicating with a business that is receiving support from Facebook.
A lot of users understood that as WhatsApp forcing users to share more data with Facebook, resulting in a massive backlash that prompted the company to postpone the policy’s rollout. After citing „confusion and misinformation“ around the updated policy, WhatsApp decided to re-introduce it in February and to give people more time to review the changes by displaying a banner within the app providing more information. The service initially warned that it would prevent you from using the app altogether unless you agree to the terms. That’s clearly no longer the case, though WhatsApp could still change its stance in the future.